Cannabis Advisory Board

The Cannabis Advisory Board, established by Chapter 55 of the Acts of 2017 has twenty-five members: five appointees each from the Governor, Treasurer, and Attorney General, and ten ex officio members with expertise and knowledge relevant to the Board’s mission. They are charged with studying and making recommendations to the Cannabis Control Commission on the regulation and taxation of marijuana in Massachusetts.

Ex Officio Appointees

Ten members are ex officio:

  • Shawn Collins: the Executive Director of the Cannabis Control Commission who serves as chair
  • Mike Kennealy: the Secretary of Housing and Economic Development (Designee: Edward A. Palleschi, Undersecretary for the Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation)
  • Kevin Brown: the Acting Commissioner of Revenue (Designee: Timothy Rooney)
  • Monica Bharel: the Commissioner of Public Health (Designee: Lindsey Tucker, Associate Commissioner, Massachusetts Department of Public Health)
  • John Lebeaux: the Commissioner of Agricultural Resources
  • Christopher Mason: the Colonel and Superintendent of the Massachusetts State Police (Designee: Detective Lieutenant Kenneth Halloran)
  • Cecilia Calabrese: the President of the Massachusetts Municipal Association (Designee: David J. Narkewicz, Mayor of Northampton)
  • Nichole Snow: the President of the Massachusetts Patient Advocacy Alliance, Inc.
  • Michael Latulippe: a registered qualifying patient appointed by the President of the Massachusetts Patient Advocacy Alliance, Inc.
  • Carol Rose: Executive Director of the American Civil Liberties Union of Massachusetts, Inc. (Designee: Whitney Taylor, Political Director, ACLU of Massachusetts)
Treasurer and Receiver-General Appointees

Five members are appointed by the Treasurer and Receiver-General:

Governor Appointees

Five members are appointed by the Governor:

Attorney General Appointees

Five members are appointed by the Attorney General:

  • Horace Small: an expert in social welfare or social justice
  • Andrea Cabral: an expert in criminal justice reform to mitigate the disproportionate impact of drug prosecutions on communities of color
  • Courtney Chelo: an expert in the prevention and treatment of substance use disorders
  • Raymond Berry: an expert in minority business ownership
  • Sarah Meier-Zimbler: an expert in women-owned business